Thailand Reflections Part 3: Most Embarrassing Moments

  1. Being unable to open the padlock on your front gate and having to climb over your own fence in a skirt is not the best way to make a good impression the first week in your new neighborhood.
  2. Never assume that because someone’s name sounds Japanese and he is among foreigners that he is not Thai, because asking, “Where are you from?” will achieve mortifying results.
  3. When one of my Thai co-teachers explained to me why she missed class on Monday, I attempted to fill her in on what we covered. Unfortunately, that topic was “nice to meet you,” and my attempts to convey that to her was met with confusion. Finally, with a very perplexed look on her face (as we had already known each other for a month), she said, “Nice to meet you too,” and walked away.
  4. I need to learn to read Thai so that I don’t accidentally try to order alcohol in the morning at a coffee shop instead of fruit juice. Awwwwkward.
  5. I have learned it is far too easy to go on autopilot and confuse “Sawadi ka” (hello) with “Khupkhun ka” (thank you), using each in the wrong situation.

 

This entry was posted in Travel blog and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment